Have you smelled its fragrance yet?

Half of it has already passed.

As I was lying under the night sky with a couple of friends, I spotted the moon. I was saddened. It was already the 17th night of the blessed month, and so was the time nearing for the month to bid goodbye.

17th Ramadan

I remember talking to my friends a few days back on welcoming Ramdan, witnessing the beautiful days, the sweetness of praying Taraweeh, brightening the mornings and lighting the nights with the noor of the Qur’an, and the remembrance of Allah. Or reading posts on how to welcome Ramadan, how to live its nights and make most of this blessed month.

And *blink*…now I see posts on the last ten nights and Laylatul Qadr and even how to spend a productive Eid!

SubhanAllah! A blink of an eye and the days flew!

Yes, it has not come to and end till now. But we need to reflect, how much have we gained? How much have we improved from the last Ramadan? Did the days and nights go like the last Ramadan, or was it better? Did we work hard to earn the pleasure of Allah so that He accepts our fasts? Did we make the most of this month till now or are we still procrastinating?

Yes, Ramadan will repeat every year, like it always has been till Qiyamah. But the question is, are we guaranteed life till we witness the next Ramadan?

No.

Rememeber the Hadith of the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم)

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him) ascended the minbar and said: “Āmīn, āmīn, āmīn.” It was said: “O Messenger of Allāh, you ascended the minbar and said, ‘Āmīn, āmīn, āmīn’.” He said: “Jibrīl (peace be upon him) came to me and said: “If Ramadān comes and a person is not forgiven, he will enter Hell and Allāh will cast him far away. Say Āmīn.” So I said Āmīn. He said: “O Muhammad, if both or one of a person’s parents are alive and he does not honour them and he dies, he will enter Hell and Allāh will cast him far away. Say Āmīn.” So I said Āmīn. He said: “If you are mentioned in a person’s presence and he does not send blessings upon you and he dies, he will enter Hell and Allāh will cast him far away. Say Āmīn.” So I said Āmīn.”

(Narrated by Abu Hurairah رضي الله عنه)

And the days passing so quickly also reminded me of the ayah where Allah says about the life of this world,
{It will be, on the Day they see it, as though they had not remained [in the world] except for an afternoon or a morning thereof.} (Surah Nazi’aat, Ayah 46)

I remind myself first and then the readers, to make the most of the few days left in worships that will lead to earning the pleasure of Allah.

And lets not forget to renew our Niyyah (intentions) constantly.

Remember the Hadith of the Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم,

“The Messenger of Allah said: ‘Whoever fasts Ramadan out of faith and in the hope of reward, he will be forgiven his previous sins.” (Narrated by Abu Hurairah رضي الله عنه)

And the Hadith also narrated by Abu Hurairah رضي الله عنه,
I heard Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) saying regarding Ramadan, “Whoever prayed at night in it (the month of Ramadan) out of sincere Faith and hoping for a reward from Allah, then all his previous sins will be forgiven.”
We ask Allah to forgive us of our shortcomings, accept from us what has passed of this blessed month and grant us the tawfeeq to do more and more ibadah, and to make the most of the rest of the days earning His pleasure, mercy and forgiveness and make us witness more and more Ramadans to come.
Ameen.
2 thoughts on “Have you smelled its fragrance yet?

  1. My longing comes to my lips as supplication of mine 

    O God! May like the candle be the life of mine!

    May the world’s darkness disappear through the life of mine! 

    May every place light up with the sparkling light of mine!

    May my homeland through me attain elegance

    As the garden through flowers attains elegance

    May my life like that of the moth be, O Lord!

    May I love the lamp of knowledge, O Lord!

    May supportive of the poor my life’s way be 

    May loving the old, the suffering my way be

    O God! Protect me from the evil ways 

    Show me the path leading to the good ways

    Like

Leave a Reply

