You can’t forget the 12th of June!

2014_zzsite_graphics_birthday_Happy-21st- The title must have made you think what’s so special about the 12th of June?? You might have made some guesses but I am sure you are wrong. Of course Google doesn’t know it either so let me tell you why the 12th of June is important…it’s the day I was born! Yes it’s my birthday, and naturally birthdays are important to all of us, but to tell you the truth I always spend my birthday thinking about how I spent my last year and I have never really cut a cake. I always wanted to throw some light on the topic of birthdays and thought today is the best time to share it with all of you. I want to begin with the question, “Do you know about the origin of birthdays?” I am pretty sure many of you don’t know it has a pagan origin. Birthday has not been mentioned in the Quran or Sunnah. You will be surprised to know that even Bible only mentions it twice, that too of the Pharaoh of Egypt (Book of Genesis) and the wicked King Harod!! Do you know who is a Pagan? A pagan is generally known as a person believing in many gods or someone who worships the Earth and nature. My fellow readers, the Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم never celebrated his own birthday. He had seven kids but he never cut a cake for them. We have never come across any Ayah of the Quran or Hadith that observes the celebration of birthdays as an Islamic act. Even Christians don’t have any authentic proof of celebrating birthdays from Bible…as a matter of fact Christmas day (the birth of Jesus) is a cooked up event. So 25th of December is all just made up! Why do Muslims have to follow the practice of pagans? Why is the Quran not our source of guidance and the Hadith our daily practice? Celebrating Birthdays is regarded as a Bid’ah in Islam. The Quran clearly mentions the consequence of introducing something new in religion in the following ayah : “Follow what has been sent down unto you from your Lord, and follow not any awliyaa’ (protectors, helpers, etc.) besides Him. Little do you remember!” [al-A’raaf 7:3]” The prophet of Allah is reported to have said: “Whoever does something that is a not part of this matter of ours (i.e., Islam) will have it rejected” (reported by Muslim in his Saheeh). Allah سبحانه وتعالى mentions in Surah Al Imran: “Say, [O Muhammad]: ‘If you should love Allah, then follow me, [so] Allah will love you and forgive you your sins. And Allah is Forgiving and Merciful’. Say: ‘Obey Allah and the Messenger.’ But if they turn away – then indeed, Allah does not like the disbelievers.” (Aal ‘Imraan: 31-32). The Ayah is a beautiful message from Allah سبحانه وتعالى that stresses upon the fact that if one wants to achieve the love and mercy of Allah سبحانه وتعالى then he should follow the Prophet. Indeed on the Day of Judgment, one will get up with the people he followed in the duniya so we as Muslims should reflect upon ourselves. I believe a birthday is a reminder for oneself. It indicates the amount of time one has spent in the duniya and that he/she has lost yet another year from his/her life. Muslims celebrate two events, the Eid al Fitr and Eid al Adha. These two days Muslims welcome their friend and foe alike. They hug each other, give gifts, wear the best they have, visit their friends, attend parties and much more. Islam emphasizes on everyone rather than one person. Birthdays gather the attention on a single person making others feel less important. You see Islam observes and promotes brotherhood and unity very strongly. We as Muslims shouldn’t celebrate birthdays but there is one thing that we should do on this day. A birthday is the best day to assess yourself.  I always make a list of things I need to accomplish. This year my main stress was upon strength and acceptance of failure. I realized that for the first time in my whole life I had failed, given up and felt better. I always thought of failure as a mistake. Upon failing I realized I had learned something success wouldn’t have taught me. I learned about my limits and used my strength wisely. I also made a new list of accomplishments that I have to observe this year. Firstly I will try to establish a stable personality that matches with what I learn every day. I will leave no line and no word in understanding the Quran and its Science. I will start teaching what I learn and I hope that I become someone Allah سبحانه و تعالى   loves. I would like to thank all the people who made my year lovely. My prayers are with all my family members and friends who encouraged me and trusted me all the way. PS: Next time someone wishes you a “happy” birthday, don’t forget to tell them they are mistaken. Fatima Bint Sajid

2 thoughts on “You can’t forget the 12th of June!

Leave a Reply

