A message from the Philippines

It was almost a week since exams ended and summer vacations began, since day one of the holidays, I have been keepingA call from Philippines myself busy, learning something new every other day. Alhamdulillah. But even in between all that, I felt I was missing something. Yes, I could spend more time with family, I had no tension of classes the next day or an exam coming up or a deadline for a submission. Yet, I found something not the same. Until, I got a message from the Philippines. As days began to move faster than I expected, I slowly came to a realization, that it was a beautiful upward spiritual journey I used to go through everyday that was missing. My days usually start earlier than most of the college going students elsewhere. It is a hard start, waking up early, praying Fajr, having breakfast in a hurry, dressing up and running down the stairs so that I don’t miss the bus, and once I sit inside the bus, I am still half asleep. The ride to the University is either a thoughtful one or a sleepy one. But, putting away all that behind my head, I know deep down, that I have a beautiful day ahead of me. As I reach the college and walk towards the building, I hear the chirping of the birds, the rustling of the leaves, and I say to myself, these might be the birds and the leaves praising Allah,

{Do you not see that Allah is exalted by whomever is within the heavens and the earth and [by] the birds with wings spread [in flight]? Each [of them] has known his [means of] prayer and exalting [Him], and Allah is Knowing of what they do.} (Surah Nur: 41)

and I whisper a SubhanAllah along with them. I make my way towards the Musallah or the Cafeteria, impossible that I find my friends anywhere else 😉 . And there I am greeted with tight, genuine handshakes, a sincere ‘Assalamu Alaykum’ and the brightest smiles (May Allah bless them and their families), and we start talking on topics ranging from the world news to the condition of the Muslim Ummah to the tiny blessings of Allah upon us. Alhamdulillah. And as the clock strikes eight, we part ways towards our respective classes. And there again, I am greeted with another bunch of beautiful souls, who come from around the world but ‘La Ilaha IllAllah’ uniting us as one big family with the same goals and aspirations (May Allah fulfill all our wishes and dreams, both big and small). The following ayah pops to my mind when I look at them,

{“O mankind, indeed We have created you from male and female and made you peoples and tribes that you may know one another. Indeed, the most noble of you in the sight of Allah is the most righteous of you. Indeed, Allah is Knowing and Acquainted.”}  (Surah Hujurat: 13)

And as we begin classes, we go into a spiritual ride up, an Imaan booster, when we learn how Allah has taken care of us in the tiniest of ways, how the Prophet has shown us a clear guidance to be followed, and the care of the scholars of the Ummah to preserve the Deen and what hardships they had to go through. And the teacher says, we have to carry the legacy forward for the sake Of Allah. As we move to the next class, I remember what one of our teachers said in the beginning of the term, ‘as you go from one class to another, its like you are transferring from one Jannah to the other.’

Ibn `Umar (Radi Allahu Anhu) reported that the Prophet (Peace be upon him) said: “When you pass by the gardens of Paradise, avail yourselves of them.” The Companions asked: “What are the gardens of Paradise, O Messenger of Allah?” He replied: “The circles of dhikr. There are roaming angels of Allah who go about looking for the circles of dhikr, and when they find them they surround them closely.”
As my teachers take classes, share with us gems from their experience or walk past us in the corridors, I notice their character, their different ways of approach towards different matters and different people, their humbleness, their constant remembrance of Allah and sending salutations upon the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) (May Allah preserve them and increase the likes of them and grant them and us Jannah), I think to myself, subhanAllah, that was a lot of learning done in just few minutes, Alhamdulillah.
And as the beautiful day comes to an end, as we make way to our buses, we talk all the way about the day we had, exchanging knowledge and reminding each other of the blessings of Allah upon us and thanking Him جل جلاله  for those blessings.
And this is how our days go, each day is a new day, with new light and knowledge and of course a dash of fun too

             Two days back, my friend had messaged me from the Philippines that she reached there safe, that’s when I realized what I missed these days.
I missed the Imaan-ful environment.
I missed my sisters and my best friends.
“{And He gave you from all you asked of Him. And if you should count the favor of Allah , you could not enumerate them. Indeed, mankind is [generally] most unjust and ungrateful.”} (Surah Ibrahim: 34)
May He سبحانه وتعالى  make us among His grateful slaves and make our intentions sincere.
I pray that Allah protect us and all the Muslims from all evil.
May He increases us in knowledge, help us to apply what we learn, unite us and our families and all those who we love for His sake, in Jannah with the best of people, the Prophets and the Sahabas, and bless us to look at His blessed face, and be pleased with us forever.
Ameen ❤
Leave a Reply

